Chic Destination: New York City (Christmas Season) 

It’s been a dream of mine since I was a child to visit New York City during Christmas time. I’ve been twice, but never during winter. Well, my dream finally came true this year! I’m so thankful that my husband could take us. It was beautiful (and very cold!). Here are some of the highlights from our trip:

  • We stayed at the Andaz Fifth Avenue, and it was such a great location. It was a short walk to Times Square, the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, and Bryant Park. Nearby stores to shop at: & Other Stories (now I have lots of options for potential outfit blog posts!), Urban Outfitters, Zara, Adidas, etc..

balcony views

view of 41st street from our balcony

Christmas decor in the lobby

  • The Rockefeller Center Christmas tree was everything I thought it would be and more! It was very busy during the day and at night as well, so there isn’t really a “good” time to go. Just squeeze in to find a great angle for a photo. Also, the greatest hot chocolate in NYC is underneath, by the entrance to Top Of The Rock. It’s called Jacques Torres Chocolate, and it’s a thick, rich hot chocolate that blows the packet kind out of the water.

the iconic tree in all its glory

it’s even prettier at night!

happiness in a cup

Jacques Torres Chocolate

  • A must see view of NYC is from Top Of The Rock. Skip the Empire State Building and see this view instead. It has an open air panoramic viewing area, and stunning views of the whole city including the Empire State Building. The lines move quickly so it doesn’t take long to get to the top.

my daughter loving the view

how cute are my earmuffs though

breathtaking views of nyc

  • Christmas is my favorite time of the year. I’m a sucker for the lights, music, and overall feeling of joy that it brings. So obviously, I had to see the Rockettes Christmas Spectacular in Radio City Music Hall. My daughter loves seeing shows at the theater, so she absolutely adored it. The dancers are so on point, and the ever changing set is very impressive! They had real animals on stage as well. It’s elaborate and gorgeous, and it “snowed” inside the theater!

the iconic venue

Santa opening the show

the Rockettes

  • My daughter and I love seeing museums and artwork in every city we visit, so a trip to the Museum of Modern Art was a must. We saw everything from Warhol to Van Gogh! Here are a few of my favorite pieces:

Also the views from the museum are beautiful.

a rose sculpture

  • I couldn’t go to NYC without eating Grimaldi’s Pizza! We stopped by for dinner in Brooklyn one night and had an amazing pepperoni pizza. I did my research though, and discovered that it was under a new owner and there’s a pretty intense rivalry going on. Patsy Grimaldi opened up a new joint called Juliana’s on the same block! And it was better than Grimaldi’s. I was blown away by it. Best pizza in NYC, hands down. And the views of Manhattan from Brooklyn are beautiful.

Juliana’s pizza

the Brooklyn Bridge

Manhattan

  • I loved exploring NYC and finding great photo opportunities at every corner!

St Patrick’s Cathedral

Chrysler Building at night

Chrysler Building during the day

overrated Times Square, but my daughter had never seen it before

Some tips for visiting in winter:

  1. Layers are key! You’ll need some thermal leggings under your pants so your legs stay warm.
  2. Leave the cutesy jackets at home, you need something WARM. North Face is the best for winter wear. It’s not exactly as cute as a leather jacket or a fur coat, but you won’t feel a thing under it.
  3. Ear muffs, scarves, and gloves should be a good quality so you can stay warm and not catch a cold.
  • We waited all week for it to snow, and on our last day it did! We didn’t get to play in it because we had to leave to the airport, but I made sure I took a picture of my daughter having fun on our balcony.

her first time seeing snow!

  • Christmas in NYC was magical. Every store is decorated for the holidays. Saks Fifth Avenue takes the crown for decor though. They have a light show that happens out front, and crowds show up to see it!

the light show, set to music 🎄

My little family and I had a dreamy time in NYC, and I hope this inspires someone to take a trip there during the holidays.Let me know what you think of NYC in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

